Is a Push Considered a Loss on FanDuel? Explained

When participating in sports betting on platforms such as FanDuel, it’s important to understand the various outcomes that can occur. One common scenario is known as a push, where the final score of a game matches the predetermined total set by the sportsbook. In this situation, all bets placed on the outcome are considered voided, and bettors receive their money back. For example, if the indicated total for a game is set at 48 points, and the teams end up combining for exactly 48 points, it’s considered a push. This means that neither the "over" nor the "under" bets will be paid out, and individuals will have their wager amount returned to them. So, while a push on FanDuel isn’t considered a win, it’s also not considered a loss.

Do You Get Your Money Back if a Bet Pushes?

When it comes to betting, a push is often considered a void or a tie. In other words, it means that there’s no winner or loser in the bet between the bettor and the sportsbook. When a bet pushes, it can be a bit frustrating for the bettor, as they neither win nor lose their wager.

However, the good news is that in most cases, if a bet pushes, the sportsbook will refund the initial stake to the bettor. This means that you’ll get your money back if your bet ends up being a push. While it may not be the most exciting outcome for a bet, at least you won’t be out of pocket.

The reason for this refund is quite simple. Refunding the initial stake ensures that neither party ends up at a disadvantage, and it maintains a fair playing field.

It’s important to note that different sportsbooks may have slightly different policies when it comes to pushes. Some sportsbooks may refund the entire stake, while others may refund only a portion of it.

How Do Sportsbooks Determine if a Bet Is a Push?

Sportsbooks determine if a bet is a push by examining the final score or outcome of the event. When the final score falls exactly on the point spread or the set line, the bet is considered a push. In other words, neither the bettor nor the sportsbook wins or loses the wager. Instead, the initial stake is usually returned to the bettor.

In such cases, your wager will simply be returned to you, and the rest of your parlay will continue to be graded as usual. This distinction is important to remember, as a push doesn’t count as a loss when it comes to parlay bets, ultimately affecting the payout calculation.

Does a Push Count as a Loss in a Parlay?

If you’re wondering whether a push counts as a loss in a parlay, the answer is no. A push, which refers to a tie, doesn’t result in your parlay being graded as a loss. Instead, the leg of the parlay that resulted in a push will be essentially disregarded when determining the payout of your parlay. This situation can occur when you place a bet on a point spread or total that ends up hitting exactly on the predicted line.

In a parlay bet, you combine multiple individual bets into one single wager. The outcome of each bet in the parlay impacts the overall result. If one of your bets in the parlay ends in a push, it won’t count as a win or a loss. This means that the parlay will simply be recalculated without considering the leg that pushed.

For example, lets say you placed a parlay bet on three football games with point spreads. The first two games result in wins, but the third game ends in a push. In this scenario, the push doesn’t affect the overall outcome of your parlay. The payout will be calculated based on the two winning legs, and the leg that pushed will be ignored.

It’s important to note that each sportsbook or betting platform may have it’s own specific rules and regulations regarding pushes in parlays. Therefore, it’s always a good idea to familiarize yourself with the terms and conditions of the particular platform you’re using to ensure you fully understand how pushes are handled.

Instead, it’s disregarded when calculating the payout of the parlay. This allows you to still potentially win on the other legs of your parlay even if one leg results in a push.

What Happens if One Leg of a Parlay Bet Is a Cancelled or Postponed Game?

If one leg of a parlay bet is cancelled or postponed, the bet is usually adjusted. The cancelled or postponed game is usually removed from the parlay, and the remaining legs of the bet are still active. The odds and potential payout are recalculated based on the remaining legs of the parlay. So, although the parlay bet is affected, it isn’t considered an automatic loss on platforms like FanDuel.

If an NFL game ends in a tie with 2-way moneylines, FanDuel will refund the stake of your bet as it will be considered a push.

What Happens to a Moneyline Bet in a Tie FanDuel?

If a NFL game ends in a tie and you’ve placed a moneyline bet on it with 2-way moneylines, your wager will be graded as a push. This means that you’ll get the stake of your bet back. In a push scenario, neither the bettor nor the sportsbook wins or loses in terms of the money wagered. Essentially, it’s as if the bet never happened, and you’ll be refunded the full amount of your original bet.

Some sportsbooks may have different rules in place, such as considering a tie as a loss or a win.

It’s important to remember that this specifically applies to 2-way moneylines, where there are only two possible outcomes (typically win or lose). Different rules may apply to other types of bets, such as point spreads or totals, so be sure to check the sportsbooks specific rules for those scenarios.

Source: How To Bet Moneyline On FanDuel App | Guide To NFL Betting


If the total score of the game matches the indicated total exactly, then the wager is considered a push and all bets are voided.

Scroll to Top